Japspec
Japspec Reader
2/27/21 10:15 p.m.

Hi everyone. I have the oil pan off of my Miata currently to fix a leaking rear half moon seal and also to drill and tap it for a turbo oil return fitting. I have the fitting in already and the oil pan all cleaned up, all that is left is cleaning up the RTV off of the block. However, I of course do not want any gunk falling into the engine while doing that. How do you guys recommend I keep all the old RTV and other junk from falling into the engine while scraping it off? I'm a rookie when it comes to any of this, so I'm not trying to mess anything up...which brings me to my next issue.

I made a pretty dumb rookie mistake with the windage tray. While trying to remove it, it was really stuck on there, so I decided to try and use a small screwdriver to separate it from the block. Well, I ended up gouging the windage tray up pretty bad. I got lucky that it wasn't the block. Here is a video of the gouges:

https://youtu.be/E1_4um0ONh4

It isn't great, and I know I messed up. You live and you learn. Would a healthy dose of black RTV seal that up, or should I look into purchasing a new windage tray? I'm not sure how salvageable it is.

Thanks for any help on both of those matters!

codrus (Forum Supporter)
codrus (Forum Supporter) PowerDork
2/27/21 11:55 p.m.
Japspec said:

It isn't great, and I know I messed up. You live and you learn. Would a healthy dose of black RTV seal that up, or should I look into purchasing a new windage tray? I'm not sure how salvageable it is.

I expect RTV will seal that fine.