1 2
DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
1/28/21 1:10 p.m.

My son just bought his first car, a 2006 Buick Lacrosse. Sweet deal. Little old man-driven, 68K miles $800 in maintenance put into it a few months ago, new tires and clean all for....$1500!
Anyway, it has Dex Cool. I have very little experience with GM stuff, quite on purpose. I have only heard horror stories about the stuff. Well, sure enough he drives it Monday and tells me he doesn't' have heat. The temp gauge is only 1/2 way to normal operating temp. So he and I swap in a new t-stat. The coolant in the reservior looks ok I guess, it's hard to see anything down there. Inspecting the inside of the motor below the t-stat looked great. Coolant was orangish, not cloudy, seemed fine. We topped it off with Dex Cool. Temp gauge goes almost to NOT, but he still has just a little heat. The temp at the dash outlet is 80 F. That's 40 degrees lower than I'd expect. I measured temps at the heater hoses going in and out of the heater core. There was about a 40 degree difference between the two.  

I guess it's time to flush the heater core. Should we have the entire system flushed to get rid of dex cool and just go with glycol mix? Is Dex Cool really the devil?

bobzilla
bobzilla MegaDork
1/28/21 1:12 p.m.

flush it and refill with dexcool. We have multiple GM vehicles in the fleets with 200+k miles with no issues. Most dexcool issues happen when people top off with incorrect fluid or they get an air leak. 

DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
1/28/21 1:43 p.m.
bobzilla said:

flush it and refill with dexcool. We have multiple GM vehicles in the fleets with 200+k miles with no issues. Most dexcool issues happen when people top off with incorrect fluid or they get an air leak. 

What do you mean an air leak? And what happens? 

bobzilla
bobzilla MegaDork
1/28/21 1:45 p.m.