1 2
freetors
freetors New Reader
1/7/18 5:12 p.m.

A year or so ago I bought the harbor freight ball joint press (the big c-clamp deal) along with the master adapter kit that goes with it. Since then I've tried using it on several vehicles and have so far found precisely zero cars that this works satisfactorily on.  I have a degree in mech engineering and this thing makes me feel like I'm a moron. First of all the myriad of adapters never seem to fit anything. Secondly, I'm pretty sure the people that wrote the instructions never actually had to use the thing because nothing really works like they say. Thirdly, it takes three or four hands to hold all the adapters together. Fourthly, I also believe that the machining on many of the adapters is incorrect. Some of them should (I think) have pockets machined into them to locate themselves on the rotating part of the screw. Others that have through holes should have something different I think. It just seems like none of the parts were really made to work with each other. IMO, most or all the adapters should have little nesting locating steps on them to keep everything lined up. And speaking of keeping things lined up, it's almost impossible to drive anything in straightly.

What I really want is a universal ball joint press that comes with enough pieces to do 95% of cars on the road and do it efficiently. Is there anything out there that does that? If I had a lathe I could probably whip up my own adapters  but I don't.

I also have the harbor freight front end service kit and have similar feeling about it. The majority of the time the tools can't even fit into the locations they need to fit in!

Cousin_Eddie
Cousin_Eddie Reader
1/7/18 5:30 p.m.

The OTC version is made in the USA and doesn't flex like the Chinese ones do. I've used mine to put ball joints into a whole lot of vehicles. It works well.

Patrick
Patrick MegaDork
1/7/18 5:35 p.m.