twowheeled
twowheeled New Reader
7/15/21 5:01 p.m.

I've been running KW V3 coilovers on my NC miata for a few years. No matter how I try to tune these they are so bad for ride quality. I was hoping someone else had experience and can give me advice whether to ditch them or try to fix the issue somehow.

Going over expansion joints or transitions at speed, I feel like I'm running out of travel and hitting the bumpstops hard. To the point where I unconsciously brace myself because it's so uncomfortable sometimes my ass is nearly leaving the seat. 

The rear suspension of the NC is a bit short on travel already I believe, and these really don't seem to help things. The spring on the KW is a progressive in the rear. I've tried the max ride height as recommended in the manual. Curiously this is not the max height you can achieve because there are additional threads to continue cranking up the springs to another 1/2", but when physically maxed out the ride becomes even worse. I think due to the spring rate getting wound up too high.

I've also moved the rebound and compression through various stages of their adjustment ranges, nothing seems to give a well damped feel. The rebound seems to either be too fast resulting in a bouncy ride, but if I slow it down to where I get the ride comfort it will pack down over a series of bumps. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? I'm so fustrated the stock suspension is about to go back in. 

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner MegaDork
7/15/21 5:23 p.m.

The NC is actually decent for rear travel, it's the NA/NB that had trouble.