yupididit
yupididit UberDork
9/4/19 9:52 a.m.

Before I hit the megasquirt forum I wanted to ask my friends im GRM. 

I want to replace all the engine ecu's in my s600 with a MS3pro. I also want to replace the engine harness as well. With that I want to dump these unreliable electronic throttle actuators (fancy throttle body's) with some mustang units. 

I'm a complete noob in regards to wiring my own engine harness and installing a standalone on a car. But, I want to learn along the way and do this successfully. Just consider my level of understanding is a 2 out of 10 lol

I have a few a few questions:

Can I control ABS and possibly traction control with this stand alone? 

My engine has two distributors, I want to run COP. What I need to do to swap over to that? 

More questions to follow as I figure out stuff.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH MegaDork
9/4/19 10:25 a.m.

The MS doesn't do ABS, it has some launch-control-oriented TC capability, but not TC as the OEMs do it. If you want aftermarket ABS control you'll have to get a pricey race car ABS system from Bosch for example.

You'll need to add a crank sensor to run COPs (and cap your distributor holes), and you may have to pair up channels and run a wasted spark setup to have enough outputs to run a V12. No big deal, that's the setup I'm running due to a faulty daughterboard.

Edit: I checked and the MS3Pro has just 8 logic-level ignition outputs so you will have to run a paired wasted-spark ignition setup. You can run sequential fuel though!

AwesomeAuto
AwesomeAuto Reader
9/4/19 10:30 a.m.

Controlling the ABS will be very hard, but MS3Pro IS capable depending on the circumstances.
If your ABS has its own controller, its likely only going to need a small amount of info from MS3pro.
Find out what it is, and it should be possible to give it what it needs.

Yes, MS3pro can do traction control.
It can read you factory ABS sensors front/rear to get wheel speed and is able to do a few different traction control methods.