1 2
Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner MegaDork
10/24/18 9:53 p.m.

So, my Mini has to be up and happy in a bit over a week. It's been getting grouchy, preferring to be on the choke most of the time and not happy about idling. It's never liked idling below 2000 due to a fairly rowdy cam, but it's getting out of hand. The carb is a single HIF 44.

I'm thinking there's an air leak. I did have the engine out a while back so the manifold was off. The car was down for a while at that time so I don't recall if this behavior started right then or not, but I don't think so. I do have a fresh set of gaskets for the manifold.

I've been through setup a few times, setting idle etc but can't come up with a happy setup. So - what should I be looking for? How to troubleshoot? Hose it down with carb cleaner to find a leak?

I'm not good with carbies. Please help!

Robbie
Robbie UltimaDork
10/24/18 10:06 p.m.

Got oil in it?

Check for air leaks, especially with your "runs on choke" comments.

Check the float level, check that there is no junk in the float bowl, and that the floats don't sink.

The throttle shaft bushings can leak air which is pretty common I think.

Robbie
Robbie UltimaDork
10/24/18 10:07 p.m.

Oh, and you're 100% sure it's not a spark issue?

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner MegaDork
10/24/18 10:12 p.m.

I've been through the ignition in the past, I think we're good there. The car does like to foul plugs if you don't run it hard occasionally - it's a fairly horny little engine.

I've checked the float, but I'll get in there and do it again to be sure. I even replaced the needle just in case it was worn. Definitely has oil. I've been through the SU setup guides multiple times, which makes me think it's something wrong and not a setup problem. I'm going to go through the whole thing again as it's been a while since I was under the hood, and not make any assumptions. But if the settings are all right and there's nothing visibly wrong, what else should I be looking at?