Bmsluite
Bmsluite New Reader
2/6/22 1:55 p.m.

So i have been tracking for a little while now and want to know what is the natural progression as far as tires go.  I have been using exclusively the Firestone Firehawk tire for 5 years.  It is a great cheap summer tire that has served me well on the track.  I saw cheap as in it used to be cheap but now is $880 a set which is $120 away from knocking on continentals door and $220 from Michelins.

I have progressed further than that tire can take me.  I can turn them into greaseballs within a couple laps and on a hot day at the track the last two sessions I basically have to chill all the way out as the tire gives up.  I have heard street tires do not heat cycle but that is not my experience.  They seem to lose all their grip long before the tread is gone.

I plan to upgrade and need some advice.  I hear track tires are best for track but they do not have that nice, slow transition from grip to slip like street tires.  I am still learning so I feel maybe jumping straight into track tires is a bad idea.  I do not want to ball up my car at the track as I financially cannot just buy a new one right now.  This is the only one I have.  I do also have a RSX type S but that is my GFs DD at the moment.

The street tire I would go with is the Michelin PS4S.  I feel this is the next natural upgrade on track for me.  I could be wrong.  I hear these have progressive breakaway but have also heard some stories of them chunking on heavier cars.  I track a modified 2007 350Z.  I have the correct suspension and alignment specs to track it so I do not know if the chunking issue is just for heavy cars with the incorrect alignment.  These tires are $1350 a set