1 2 3
Lof8
Lof8 Dork
6/9/18 9:34 p.m.

*EDIT this is no longer a Challenge budget build

I picked up a 2000 Trans Am for Challenge money and plan to run it in Gainesville this year. After that, I’m going to pull the drivetrain and swap into an e36. The trans am has 190,000 but the engine feels pretty tight and healthy. No leaks and no burning oil. 

Im looking for guidance on what items to replace when (or prior to) swapping it to the e36. I’m not after huge power numbers but I’m considering a cam since that seems like an easy upgrade.  Let’s say the budget is about $500 for upgrades and “while I’m in there” items.   (That’s also how much Challenge budget I have to work with).

I have very little knowledge of these engines other than their huge popularity for swaps. The donor vehicle pretty much fell in my lap. I’ve been watching the recent LS1 threads and discussion closely but am looking to you guys for some further guidance. Thanks!

MrChaos
MrChaos Dork
6/9/18 9:40 p.m.

iirc its usually cam + beehive valve springs + push rods that usually happen at the same time. And swapping from the LS1 timing chain to a LS7 chain.

81cpcamaro
81cpcamaro Dork
6/9/18 9:56 p.m.

I would add a Melling oil pump while you are in there. Rocker trunnions would be a good idea too.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner MegaDork
6/10/18 12:30 a.m.

IIRC the T56 is prone to shifter fork problems. It may be worth checking that out before you put it into the E36.

Furious_E
Furious_E SuperDork
6/10/18 12:51 a.m.

Cam, valve springs, and pushrods will eat up that $500 and then some. I'd think about doing something for oil control, like the Improved Racing oil pan baffle, first and foremost, then maybe upgrade the timing set and oil pump. I just did the oil pan baffle in mine while it was out, but I put almost 40k on the motor prior to my swap and knew it was in fine shape. Kinda wish I had cammed it, but that would have screwed up my classing for auto x anyways. 

TheV8Kid
TheV8Kid HalfDork