S2Fella
S2Fella New Reader
7/29/09 11:36 a.m.

I fairly recently got myself a 944S2 that came with the factory limited slip differential option. I know the theory of how this all works, but what does it mean on the track in terms of driving technique? I'm still a novice on the track, by the way.

Does it make any difference on the street?

Apexcarver
Apexcarver SuperDork
7/29/09 11:42 a.m.

I took my cobra from a shot and pretty much open stock LSD to a Auburn RR LSD...

It can mean more rear end stepping in lift throttle oversteer situations.

You can get on the power ALOT earlier coming out of a turn.

can institute some added understeer

on the street it is pretty invisible except in low speed tight turns. the inside tire can slide a bit due to not wanting to travel at a different speed. Mostly only noticible when on pea gravel covered asphault in my neighborhood.

it is going to mostly matter what type of LSD it is. Mine is a VERY tight clutch type.

Autolex
Autolex Reader
7/29/09 11:43 a.m.

it'll help you not peg-leg burnout out of super tight corners like my open-diffed miata does...

Carson
Carson Dork
7/29/09 11:47 a.m.

DON'T DO IT!

andrave
andrave Reader
7/29/09 12:02 p.m.

I started with open diff in my turbo'd 240sx. Got used to it handling that way... I could give it gas in tight corners and spin the inside rear wheel. Installed a viscous LSD... it was very similar driving, only if you gave enough gas to spin the wheel while cornering it made it easier to drift (or snap) the back end out.
I then eventually upgraded to a 2 way clutch type and it was a different world. The car understeered on tight corners unless you used techniques to obtain oversteer. It increased the parking lot turning radius by a good bit. I don't think its what I would have wanted for road racing or autocross. It did make sideways antics far more predictable though.

Apexcarver
Apexcarver SuperDork
7/29/09 12:10 p.m.