P3PPY
P3PPY Reader
1/26/20 11:55 a.m.

The other day I went to start it and it constantly misfired. It’s doing multiple cylinders so while it probably does need plugs and coils (140k, owned it since 130k) I’m leaning towards fuel delivery, but I’m REALLY not a mechanic. Looking for some advice here  

Also, if fuel sounds like a reasonable avenue of investigation to anyone else, I think I’m going to pick up a cheap kit off Amazon, $50 or so. Is there anything I should be looking for in a kit?

02Pilot
02Pilot SuperDork
1/26/20 1:11 p.m.

Check battery voltage before anything else. Modern BMWs are hypersensitive to weak voltage. Coils and plugs should probably be done anyway unless you have a record of them being taken care of; the plugs in particular could be far past their prime. As to fuel, there are specs for pressure and flow rate in the Bentley manual and in the online TIS. I don't know what sort of kit you're talking about, but if it's parts, forget it - just get the OE stuff.

Olemiss540
Olemiss540 New Reader
1/26/20 1:42 p.m.

I am going to guess MAF? Honestly, just do a spark plug change since it it easy and cheap.

Try unplugging the MAF and then see if the misfires stop. That will tell you if it happens open loop or closed loop which narrows down potential failure causes since closed loop utilizes front O2 and MAF to handle fueling.

I am sure the coils are fine but you could have a valve cover leak down the spark plug well causing misfires as well. Changing the plugs will give you a look down there just in case and tell u if any coils are totally jacked.

Can also move coil packs to different cylinders and see if the misfire moves any.

P3PPY
P3PPY Reader
1/26/20 10:00 p.m.

Sorry, by cheap kit I meant cheap fuel pressure test kit. Any recommendations for features for one of those?

and yeah I’ll try unplugging the MAF

Olemiss540
Olemiss540 New Reader
1/27/20 5:28 a.m.
P3PPY said: