1 2
Carl Heideman
Carl Heideman
9/17/15 3:17 p.m.

We’ve spent a lot of time discussing welding skills and technique in this magazine, but maybe it’s time to back up and start at the beginning: How do you decide what kind of welder to use in the first place?

Sure, the skills and techniques we’ve covered apply to all types of welding, but we’ve gen…

Read the rest of the story

Furious_E
Furious_E Reader
9/17/15 3:57 p.m.

In reply to Carl Heideman:

No that I'm an expert by any means (far from it), but here's my $.02:

As it pertains to which of the two is easier to learn on, it seems the common advice is start with MIG if you've never welded before. I had tried both MIG and stick on a handful of occasions in high school shop class before really learning to weld on the school's SAE Formula Hybrid team in college doing TIG.

Starting out with MIG, I feel like the M.O. is basically pull trigger, keep tip in general vicinity of joint. I felt that TIG allowed me to better see how I was manipulating the weld pool, I could control it better due to the slower pace, and I got a better feel for amperages and "feed rates" through being able to manipulate both on the fly. I actually got halfway decent at TIG for a few years and chose that process exclusively even for personal projects, even though I had access to a MIG on campus as well.

ncjay
ncjay Dork
9/17/15 4:30 p.m.

The MIG gets used for mild steel only. TIG gets used for anything else, or anything that needs to be real pretty. I've seen some awesome MIG welds in aluminum, but it's a pain changing gas bottles and wire, etc. Hadn't really given it much thought until now, but you can weld everything with a good TIG machine, but the MIG machine is fairly limited.

Trans_Maro
Trans_Maro PowerDork
9/17/15 4:33 p.m.

You can MIG weld aluminum and stainless, it's not limited to mild steel only.

The advantage is that MIG is pretty much a "hot metal glue gun" thanks to the auto-set welders you can buy now.