GIRTHQUAKE
GIRTHQUAKE Reader
9/21/19 12:17 p.m.

I’ve got this idea brewing in my head for a turbo V8 build that would be on an older engine that lacks any kind of fuel-injected intake, and would have to run a throttle-body style injection setup to avoid the problems with carburetors- but I know these can have problems with tuning due to the cylinders not receiving a metered dose of fuel.

But then I started finding threads where people drilled and milled carbureted intakes to accept injectors. I have little experience with metal, but I know aluminum is soft and I have access to (woodworking) drill presses and jig materials. How feasible would it be then, to try and drill mounting provisions for injectors and fuel rails into a manifold, assuming I find rails that are the right length? Do injectors require special positioning in the airpath to work properly? Or are throttle-body based injection systems good enough that it would be a waste to try and build an MPFI setup like this?

Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
9/21/19 12:26 p.m.

Ive done this on an edelbrock victor intake for a small block mopar. 

Angle the injectors at the valve as close to the valve as feasible. Buy the aluminium bungs, and have them tig welded in. You can buy ubdrilled fuel rails and the special bit to make them whatever you need.

What engine are you working on?

Jumper K Balls (Trent)
Jumper K Balls (Trent) PowerDork
9/21/19 12:41 p.m.

I have converted two "primitive" motors to efi with tbi style units. I did so because the siamese port layout did not allow port injection.  Either due to lack of space or charge robbing issues.