jsymonds
jsymonds New Reader
2/14/12 10:03 p.m.

Can you believe I actually thought about "gee, what forum would appreciate my research about Miatas and cheap solutions?" Just for a second, of course.

First off, I'd like to say that a lot of this has been made possible by the good folks at Fatcat Motorsports. I hear Shaikh is a great guy and as a fellow physicist I encourage you all to give him several of your dollars. I hope to myself, one day! However, this post is about a bunch of work I did trying to save a few bucks and, more importantly, shed some light for myself on what's going on. I am not an expert and most readers should recognize this as a huge waste of time.

That said, my time's already gone, and sharing is caring so I wanted to show off my results. More credit where credit is due, I was reading a thread on dfwmiata.com which was discussing low-budget bump stop options for the Miata. One poster suggested that a particular Honda part from the rear shocks of an Integra made a good replacement for the FCM 36mm bump stops, which seemed appropriate for my application (a '91 STS/street car).

Well, I got them in and set to work.

My testing rig was one of our vehicle scales, an arbor press, and a pair of calipers. I reckon anyone could do this with a bench vice and a bathroom scale, but this setup is a convenient way to measure up to 1500lbs in 1lb and 0.001" increments. Here's a picture:

As you'll see in the photo above, I was also testing the springs that came with an eBay NB coilover kit (adjustable perches, 450/350 springs). Turns out they were pretty good--only tested one side so far, but actual rates were 445/325, and very linear. Not all that is cheap is worthless!

Here are the results: