1 2 3
dculberson
dculberson PowerDork
7/28/17 8:44 p.m.

So I've mentioned having parted out cars in the past, and that I have a lot of experience selling stuff on eBay and I was asked to make a post about it. I decided to try to make a sort of log of my latest attempt.

Right now, parting out a car is complicated by two kids (one almost 3 and the other 4 months) and a shop that's in dire need of renovation. But the best time to do something is now, right?

I have a 2001 MR2 Spyder with a blown engine, and so have been cruising Craigslist for a suitable donor. I really wanted to do the 2zz swap but with my minimal time availability and plethora of other projects, I knew that wasn't necessarily the best idea. A 2003 MR2 Spyder with major front end damage showed up with the asking price of $1500. I texted the seller on a Thursday night back in May and they had someone coming to look at it. Dang! Well, Friday rolled around and I checked with them and - surprise - the other person didn't show up. I made arrangements to go check it out in the evening.