1 2 3
Dusterbd13-michael
Dusterbd13-michael MegaDork
1/26/22 9:59 a.m.

Mod Edit: this thread is evolving into the Gen2 Prius Buyers Guide.  Also see top of page 2 for lots of info.

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1076393366527687/

This seems cheap. It claims battery issue, and ive asked the seller for more information. 

Can anyone give me an idea of what i may be looking at from the ad? Im seriously considering picking this up in the next day or two if it's going to be something affordable to diy repair. However, i have NO knowledge or experience with anything hybrid, and only partially understood the stuff John welsh posts about them. 

I do 5k a month for work. At .56 a mile, the mpg boost over myazda would make me money pretty quickly if its its something I can fix. 

So, any guessing or links for stuff like this?

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
1/26/22 10:06 a.m.

Buy it.  Like anything, get it for as cheap as possible.  

Ask if it still has the factory catalytic converter.  The reason for this is that cat is worth $1k in scrap alone!  

This one needs a little love but I just sold my '07 w/ 160k miles for $5,800 (in 7 days.)  So, if this is a $6k car (less miles) and you can buy it for $2k (or less) it won't need more than $1k.  Net result may be that you have a $6k car for under $3k.  

The ad says:
possibly needs new battery
screen blacked out

I'm gonna guess the seller means that it needs a hybrid battery, the big battery.  I am doubtful.  But, if true it is $500 answer.  Could just be the 12v AGM battery (car battery in trunk) and that is a $200 answer.  

Screen black out is the center stack screen.  Common problem.  Pulg and play, just replace with a better used unit.  About the same a replacing a radio. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RVROSJsPB3I&ab_channel=Sw6074

Dusterbd13-michael
1/26/22 10:10 a.m.

In reply to John Welsh :