1 2
Contradiction
Contradiction HalfDork
2/13/21 9:19 p.m.

Hi Everyone,

I'm relocating for work and I need to have my 84 VW GTI moved from Long Island, NY down to Metro Atlanta soon.  I would normally do a U-Haul and a dolly if it were a shorter move, but they want $3,110 for the U-Haul alone, and I can same myself a lot of hassle and $1,100 by doing a Pods Moving Container.  

I've gotten quotes from a handful of companies and it looks like I'll have to do it on an open transport carrier. I can't afford to do a fully enclosed trailer.

Anyone have any experience with good companies working on the East Coast?

Likewise any horror stories of companies I should avoid?

And this is stupid question since I've never used one before, if it's shipping on an open carrier with multiple other cars they have to pick up is it likely that they will take multiple days to arrive?

To be honest I'm in no big hurry to have it get there, and I won't have an apartment lined up right away when I do. Chances are I'd be putting it in a parking garage or storage for a week or so. I want to have it picked up by the 26th and delivered on like the 2nd ( 6 days).

chandler
chandler UltimaDork
2/14/21 5:13 a.m.

Dude, hope everything is good with you haven't talked in a While! You can use uship for quotes on the car hauler and yeah it'll take some time for them to get it there. Did you try Penske for the moving truck? They were half u-hails price last time I moved

ccrelan (Forum Supporter)
ccrelan (Forum Supporter) Reader
2/14/21 7:52 a.m.

www.haulmatch.com

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
2/14/21 8:51 a.m.

Uhaul is pretty crazy with their pricing.  They max out supply and demand.  With lots of people moving out of NYC, ala Covid, there are more trucks leaving the NYC area then there are arriving.  So, Uhaul has to move empty trucks into the NYC area and they really just charge you to cover this expense.