1 2 3
vincephan
vincephan
12/24/10 1:19 a.m.

I'm currently the owner of a 2005 RX8. It's a great car, no doubt about it, however, I'm a college student on a budget and the gas mileage is starting the kill me. I've upgraded the exhaust system and was expecting a huge bump in performance and I didn't get what I was used to. (I grew up around a B5 Audi S4 and Subarus, go figure)

I bought the car with the intention of doing some autocross competitions with it, however, I quickly realized that it's extremely difficult to do without a lot of money. I know that from a strict performance standpoint, the RX8 is a much more proper sports car than the WRX but...

I'm falling out of love with the RX8. It's a little annoying to have to drive the RX8 to the limit just for it to move. The RX8's handling is wasted on the streets. Despite the fact it IS very fun to drive, I'm starting to think the WRX is a better car for me... however, I might be wrong.

Anyone with insight, PLEASE offer some input. Thank you.

nderwater
nderwater HalfDork
12/24/10 2:07 a.m.

I really don't think you're going to see significant cost savings in moving from an RX-8 to a WRX. I've you've driven a WRX and loved it and are looking for an excuse to buy one, go for it. But if you really are looking to slash your costs, you need to look for an inexpensive, reliable used car which you can pay for in cash and only keep liability coverage on. There's a bunch of competitive autocross cars which qualify.

vincephan
vincephan New Reader
12/24/10 2:23 a.m.

Hmm. If that's the case... mind listing a few? I want something fun, cheap, reliable, with some room for aftermarket modifications, nothing too old as well.

griffin729
griffin729 HalfDork
12/24/10 3:27 a.m.