coll9947
coll9947 New Reader
7/17/10 9:38 p.m.

So my stock CRX HF seats are terrible. Big rips, no lumbar support, etc. I snagged a pair of blue (my CRX interior is blue) EF Civic sedan seats on the cheap just hoping on a whim that the sedan seats would bolt to the CRX rails nice and easy. Of course not. Then I hoped that maybe I could make hybrid slider/rail assemblies from the top/bottom of both sets of rails. Wrong again.

From the driver's seated position, the CRX inboard rail is mounted vertically, the outboard horizontally. Both rails on the sedan seats are flat.

I'm a certified welder with complete access to the shop at the school from which I received my education, so I have no problem making a couple brackets, I'm just wondering if there is a lazier solution.

I'm also worried the sedan seats will end up sitting too tall in the CRX.

Side question, has anyone had a 90s Honda or import seat repadded and reupholstered? What should I expect to pay for a good job?

93celicaGT2
93celicaGT2 SuperDork
7/17/10 9:39 p.m.

Try an Integra of the same time frame.

oldsaw
oldsaw Dork
7/17/10 10:00 p.m.

Swapping the seat pans may be your best bet.

Do some measuring on both pans and see if some if at least some of the bolt holes line-up. drill holes in the places where the holes don't align.

Don't take anything apart until you compare measurements between the CRX and sedan seats. If the sedan seats won't fit, doing anything else is just silly.

digdug18
digdug18 HalfDork
7/17/10 10:16 p.m.

Are you looking for shorter seats with better support? If so check out the del sol seats.

Welding up the slider is the only easy option that I've seen, but its lots of trial and error from what I've heard.

Have you searched at redpepperracing.com to see what they say?

David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
7/17/10 10:22 p.m.

What about CRX Si seats? That's what I have in my car (HF chassis).

coll9947
coll9947 New Reader
7/18/10 12:16 a.m.