MariaBailey
MariaBailey
5/21/20 4:15 a.m.

I pulled my engine out to do my head gaskets, clutch, and rear main seal.

I took my heads to a machine shop and they magnafluxed them and told me I had 12 cracks between the two heads. Quoted about $1000 for completely remanned heads. I decided to do that.

Now I have the shortblock on the motor stand, and I'm concodering total teardown.

My part prices are looking like roughly $166-315

$120 oem subaru pistons (amazon)

$23-70 rod bearings (rockauto)

$23-125 crank bearings (rockauto)

With those prices I feel like I'd be stupid to not split the cases, but I'm new to this and I'm sure i missed some things. What would I expect to pay in machining and other things I missed?

Also what sensors hoses ect should I replace while I'm here?

Edit: 147k miles on the clock. Did timing belt/water pump at 100k, plan to do it again during this

Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter)
Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
5/21/20 4:19 a.m.

Id say all the hoses. And only the sensors that were bad, or that are impossible to get to with the engine in.

Pete. (l33t FS)
Pete. (l33t FS) MegaDork
5/21/20 5:56 a.m.

I'd leave it alone at only 147k.

It has been a while but IIRC the piston slapping problem is not due to the pistons wearing but the bores egging out.

Likewise, low oil pressure is not the bearings/crank wearing but the case egging out, although this is usually a turbo engine problem.

If it's like any other modern engine I have pulled apart, the bearings will be the best part in the engine, bearing wear is usually extremely minor if present at all.

Boost_Crazy
Boost_Crazy HalfDork
5/21/20 3:02 p.m.