1 2
AnthonyGS (Forum Supporter)
AnthonyGS (Forum Supporter) Dork
11/13/20 11:31 p.m.

Maybe some have noticed, maybe some have not, but I bought a 2002 Subaru Impreza RS for the intended purpose of putzing around on the Rallycross course recently added by North TX Rallycross.  It's an odd name for it, since the course is physically located in OK, but that's they way things go.

Anyway, I have some autoX experience, some drag racing experience and some lapping experience.  I'm not hotshoe, but I'm not John Q Public either (or maybe I am). 

I have zero knowledge of Subies (maybe it's not that bad, I did get it home), and zero knowledge of RallyX.  I noticed the stock rules for it and autocross do not correlate well on shocks, etc.  I'm not sure that matters.

Anyway, I found a stock, clean, 150k mile Subaru RS bugeye and bought it.  I found a lot of modded WRXes, but most had mods that would have to be reversed at great expensee for RallyX.  I do know another RS rolled onto it's side in NTX RallyX and it was lifted.  I do not want to lift or lower the car.  I really want good suspension at factory ride height.  At 150k miles the stock struts have no life left to give (or very little).

Honestly I think I need:  1)  A skid plate and maybe a skid plate for the rear diff.  2)  Mudflaps to keep from making the paint look horrible, and 3) new struts and maybe top mounts etc.  4)  Snow tires for my stock 16s or maybe even a set of Rally oriented 15s. 

What say you that knows Subies and know RallyX? 

The want list would be more power after learning the car and dedicated rally tires and wheels along with a nice rally suspension.....  I'd also like more brap noises, but don't want a huge import style muffler that will get pancaked on a rallyX course either. 

The roof rack is already removed and for sale locally.