1 2
slow
slow Reader
11/27/14 9:27 a.m.

I am going to look at a 89 Mercedes 420 SEL with ~200k miles. The owner says everything works except the odometer (stuck @ 192k). AC and Heater work. No rust spots.

I have no experience with big Merc but have always been wanting one as a gangsta cruiser. What do I need to look for? Are transmission and engine reliable? This would be my errand runner and weekend cruiser.

DWNSHFT
DWNSHFT HalfDork
11/27/14 9:50 a.m.

I like 'em. No facts to offer, just my $.02 opinion.

Mr_Clutch42
Mr_Clutch42 Dork
11/27/14 10:43 a.m.

I would say to look for a diesel powered Benz and run it off used vegetable oil. I have no experience with a Mercedes.

slow
slow Reader
11/27/14 11:40 a.m.

I like diesel as well but haven't found one that was clean. For whatever reason, I only see abused SDL around here.

Travis_K
Travis_K UberDork
11/27/14 11:46 a.m.

Vegtable oil kills them pretty fast, I wouldn't do that. Other than a bit worse mileage, getting a gas one isn't that terrible of an idea. If the front suspension is worn out enough to be noisy plan on $1500+ to fix it, but then it will be good for another 200k. I would say if its cheap and you like it why not? Its a $60k car you can get for less than 6 months of payments on a new fiesta or something.

TRoglodyte
TRoglodyte SuperDork
11/27/14 5:03 p.m.

Gas mileage is low,heat and air are problematic. Transmission is at end of service life if not replaced. Fast for a big ccar and fun to toss around

Mr_Clutch42
Mr_Clutch42 Dork
11/27/14 5:17 p.m.

In reply to Travis_K: Companies make kits to run used vegetable oil on older diesel engines. It also only takes a little bit of work to turn used vegetable oil into biodiesel. Some buses in big cities run off of biodiesel fuel.

lrrs
lrrs New Reader
11/27/14 6:08 p.m.