1 2
Patientzero
Patientzero HalfDork
7/16/20 8:22 p.m.

Over the last couple days I've been listening to the Ten Tenths Podcast and the Slip Angle Podcast.  The concept of a "trainer car" has come up a couple times and I'm intrigued.  I'm not unfamiliar with the idea but I had never really put a ton of thought into it.  I'm having withdrawals from not driving just like everyone else so I've started looking at track ready cars for sale out of pure boredom.

My experience;

-13+ years of autocross starting with a non-turbo Nissan S14, SR20DET S14, 425whp Nissan S15, Evo III, and a few Mustangs.

-3 years of riding sport bikes, CBR1100xx, GSXR600, R1, FZ07

-10+ drift events

-2 open track days, 1 at Grandsport Speedway, 1 at Mugello Circuit

-Have current SCCA Novice Time Trials License

My current car if you don't follow my build thread.  2002 Mustang, LS swap, 480whp, sub-3000lb.  A very fast, very capable car.    

Obviously I'm not a profesional driver but I'm not a complete noob.  Getting more track time in the Mustang would be greatly benefical I'm sure.  I'm just south of Kansas City so my local tracks are Heartland Park Topeka, Hallet, and Raceway Park of the Midlands.  At this point I've never driven any of these tracks.  Is a "trainer car" something I should entertain?  Would it be more beneficial than just getting seat time in my current car?

By trainer car I'm looking at something cheap, low hp, relatively stock.  Something like a used Spec Miata, Focus SVT, some flavor of Honda?  BRZ is probably more than I want to spend.  Basically something stock that I can throw tires and brake pads on and go turn laps.  I don't want something I need to "prep", I already have a racecar.

Thoughts?

frenchyd
frenchyd PowerDork
7/16/20 9:08 p.m.

In reply to Patientzero :