lrrs
lrrs Reader
2/23/18 5:17 a.m.

While looking to find functional, and cool looking wheels for my Kelmark GT(vw type 1 irs chassis), I ran across this video on offset on the tsw site. 

At the end, he state's that the wrong offset can cause bump steer and wondering. Wondering is what I have now. 

Can some one explane how offset would cause wondering? 

Thanks. 

GTXVette
GTXVette Dork
2/23/18 5:31 a.m.

More likely you have a Toe Issue.

ultraclyde
ultraclyde PowerDork
2/23/18 7:09 a.m.

I didn't watch the video, and I'm no engineer, but it seems like moving the wheels outward from the steering pivot point would give a longer force lever acting to turn the steering when the tire encounters something. Smaller bumps or pavement variations would have an amplified effect on steering. In a perfect world, those forces would be balance side-to-side and have zero net effect, but in the real world one tire will always encounter slightly more force, so it wanders. 

I guess I'm thinking of it like bump steer but caused by differentiated pavement drag that leads to a continuous pull one way or the other, and that would change as the road surface changed. The net effect would be wandering.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH MegaDork
2/23/18 7:16 a.m.
ultraclyde said:

I didn't watch the video, and I'm no engineer, but it seems like moving the wheels outward from the steering pivot point would give a longer force lever acting to turn the steering when the tire encounters something. Smaller bumps or pavement variations would have an amplified effect on steering. In a perfect world, those forces would be balance side-to-side and have zero net effect, but in the real world one tire will always encounter slightly more force, so it wanders.

Yep, or in other words, by altering the scrub radius. Too much (or too far negative) scrub radius will cause wandering/tramlining, and something that feels like bump steer but technically isn't.

lrrs
lrrs Reader
2/23/18 5:56 p.m.

In reply to GTXVette :