don1207
don1207
6/26/22 9:00 p.m.

hello everyone.. super newbie here..

we are building a track car that will hold for sprint and endurance races with a regulated target of no more than 150hp.. we have a 1995 miata 1.8 and tuned it with haltech 550.. it made 109whp.. but we need to reach close to 150hp.. i think it was in this forum that suggested to put in a vvt head and that would solve the 150whp target.. and we obliged.. 

after a vvt head, exhaust headers, adjustable exhaust cam gear and an itb from a toyota silvertop.. new dyno is at 120whp.. we did a compression test and its 160psi.. everything looks good.. something must be wrong.. an 11whp gain doesnt add up.. 2 knowledgeable tuners has tried.. but no one seems to be able to figure it out.. philippines is honda country.. hahahahahahahahaah

we are definitely doing something wrong.. is there a miata guru who we can hire (video call or something) to sort this problem out?  or can this forum at least help me out please.. 

tell me if you need more information.. 

thank you everyone and be safe

Rodan
Rodan SuperDork
6/27/22 10:04 a.m.

150hp is on the high end for a fresh BP6D (NB2 VVT) engine with bolt ons and a good tune (and probably E85).  I would not expect to see that with a VVT head on a BP05 short block.  I'm getting 135hp from a BP6D with no internal work, flat top manifold, header and tuned on MS3.  The type of dyno and dyno settings are also a factor.  IMHO you're in the ballpark for what you've got.

Here's some info you'll want to read, lots of other good tech info there as well.

BP power levels

BP power recipies

mdshaw
mdshaw HalfDork
6/27/22 11:23 a.m.

I'm not a Miata motor expert but isn't 160psi low? The easy fix would be more compression. My D16Z6 is 230psi. Needed re-tuned but runs great on 93 octane. 

don1207
don1207 New Reader
6/27/22 12:39 p.m.

In reply to Rodan :

thank you for the reply sir and info.. really appreciate it..

i use 97ron (100 octane) gasoline.. 

calteg