1 2
Klayfish
Klayfish PowerDork
1/19/20 2:01 p.m.

Let me put this out there first.  Motorcycles have always intrigued the hell out of me, but also scared the hell out of me.  So I've never had one.  Haven't ridden a full size bike, ever.  Last time I was on a two wheeler with a motor was at least 35 years ago.  However, the interest in one has been getting stronger.  The thought of taking a ride on something nimble (relatively speaking), quick and in the open air sounds like fun.  Doing what I do for a living, I know to have my head on a swivel, be level headed and as cautious as I can be.  I just want to go out for a ride, not do anythig stupid.

Money just doesn't allow me to have a high price car toy right now, so a cheap motorcycle may make sense.  A crotch rocket doesn't appeal to me all that much, I'm more interested in being comfortable...though I wouldn't want a huge pig.  When I look at CL, I see things like Suzuki Intruders selling for $1500.  Here's an example...https://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/mcy/d/marietta-92-suzuki-intruder-vs800/7054197148.html  Would something like that make sense for a newbie? 

I'm not sure I'm going to do this.  The fear of getting hurt or killed still sticks in my mind, but I want to at least explore the options.  If you were going to spend under $2k, what would you do?

wheelsmithy
wheelsmithy UltraDork
1/19/20 2:21 p.m.

I'm a lifelong motorcyclist. Been hit by a car, been rained on, been caught out in the snow. Motorcycles are like nature walks on steroids.

Thing is, distracted drivers are worse than ever. I always took it like "They are all trying to kill you", but these days, they are sleepers who are compelled by the force to kill you, while never knowing they are doing it.

Country rides are good. Commuting is worse than ever. If you want to do it, take a rider safety course. 

mr2s2000elise
mr2s2000elise Dork
1/19/20 2:23 p.m.