ddavidv
ddavidv PowerDork
5/20/20 6:27 a.m.

Last year I bought and resurrected a 2007 Royal Enfield Bullet 500. I chronicled my travails on a few m/c sites. One fellow was so impressed with my skills (it is to laugh) that he shipped me his 1972 Bullet 350 to resurrect and sell. Yes, just sent it to me via a shipper. From Texas to Pennsylvania.

The cafe conversion/restoration was done in India. This is a photo of the bike shortly after completion back in 2009:

It looks pretty much the same although it came to me pretty filthy having not been run for 3 years. The shifter doesn't work and the throttle is stuck...this is the list so far. I started doing a video series on it if you want to follow along as it's a bit difficult to keep up with all the bike forums and so on I've posted it on. I'm no expert on motorcycle repair so my bumbling ineptitude will be on full display.

YouTube cafe racer

It is a beauty.

ShawnG
ShawnG UltimaDork
5/20/20 9:21 a.m.

How is this a poseur?

Royal Enfields are the most true-to-form "retro" style motorcycle you can buy. They're pretty much a brand-new 60 year-old motorcycle.

Cooter
Cooter UberDork
5/20/20 9:37 a.m.

I remember this bike from ADVrider.

Chanderjeet built a beautiful bike on a shoestring, and sold it dirt cheap.   I was very tempted when he listed it.

Cooter
Cooter UberDork
5/20/20 9:47 a.m.

Here is another one of his builds.

From this-

To this-

Cooter
Cooter UberDork
5/20/20 9:55 a.m.

And the the way these bikes were built was nothing short of incredible.

A far cry from the Reality TV bike builds with hundreds of thousands in tools and spotless shops.

Cooter
Cooter UberDork
5/20/20 10:09 a.m.

And one last pic to show how the bike you have looked when CJ acquired it (yes this exact bike)-

It's an incredible bike with a great story.   Be gentle with it.

Cousin_Eddie (Forum Supporter)
Cousin_Eddie (Forum Supporter) Dork
5/20/20 3:07 p.m.