No Time
No Time Dork
9/11/18 8:04 p.m.
Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett MegaDork
9/12/18 5:48 a.m.

In reply to No Time :

It took me until the end of the vid to actually understand how they work. I wonder what the fenders are made of? Hopefully something slick. 

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH MegaDork
9/12/18 8:05 a.m.

Looks like the undersides of the "fenders" are blocks of teflon, which I would think is the best choice. It would be a good idea to have a tire spray system to help clear grit from the "fenders."

Edit: I'd think a more efficient if more complicated mechanism would be to have each wheel chain-drive a crank & rod mechanism that moves the suspension up and down.

Brian
Brian MegaDork
9/12/18 8:12 a.m.

“The triangular wheels are the equivalent of riding a normal bike up a 12% grade”

Insert Ian Malcolm gif here

D2W
D2W HalfDork
9/12/18 9:18 a.m.

As an engineer I'm scratching my head as to why? It slow, inefficient, and in no way an improvement on any existing idea. The only positive I can add is it's different than anything I've seen. Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should.

nderwater
nderwater UltimaDork
9/12/18 9:55 a.m.

Interesting proof of concept, but...

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett MegaDork
9/12/18 10:05 a.m.

In reply to D2W :

It might be easier to rid up curbs, if you It it with the wheel in the correct position? 

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett MegaDork
9/12/18 10:06 a.m.

In reply to GameboyRMH :

That’s exactly what I was expecting & I kept replaying the first part of the vid looking for one. 

Toyman01
Toyman01 MegaDork
9/12/18 10:09 a.m.

The man should work for BMW. He is obviously a master at complication for the sake of complication. 

Not better. Just more parts. 

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH MegaDork
9/12/18 10:16 a.m.
D2W said: