Curtis
Curtis UltimaDork
11/28/18 12:34 p.m.

I am a musician.  That is to say, I am a vocalist who dabbles with a few instruments.  I have been writing some songs and have a home studio set up with a couple cardioids, a good Audio Technica studio condenser, interface, and a killer laptop with Audacity and a few other studio softwares to try.  My experience with instruments has been primarily orchestral.  I can debate the qualities of Oboes, Trombones, and pianos with anyone.

Right now the only instrument I own is an Alvarez 6-string with a pickup and I'm getting a Midi keyboard for Christmas.  I just built a Cajon yesterday (pictured below).  I want to get some other perc instruments like a tambourine and maybe some brake drums, and input drum from a 4L60 (they sing nicely) and other random stuff to whack on.  Possibly a banjo, a mandolin, a harmonica, and whatever else I happen to come across at yard sales and CL.

The point is to get cheap/free instruments.  Quality is not a super high concern, as I never intend to do live performance.  I'm more of a single-track recording person at this point.  I just want to basically get the tracks on wax in a sorta demo fashion.

Help me pick an electric based on the style of music I like and want to do (links below)

The Low Anthem (check out those Crotales) I have dreams of making crotales from something like brake drums even though they're cast and not forged
Gregory Hoskins
Serah Cahoone This one is clearly a slide steel, but that sound could be created with a slide on a traditional electric
Angel Olsen
Mary Glenn

Clearly, in the singer/songwriter/acoustic vein, but sometimes electric adds something I want in my music.  But I'm pretty clueless on electric guitar styles/sounds.