1 2 3
infinitenexus
infinitenexus Dork
5/17/22 7:54 a.m.

My wife and I have been dreaming of moving up north for two years, since we discovered Montreal on youtube. Our dreams changed and ebbed and flowed as we got intimidated by the immigration process and when we decided to give Cleveland a chance (lol). I've certainly posted in here quite a few times how much I want to move to Canada.

Well, we just traveled up to Windsor and spent some time up there. I'll put it this way: we crossed the Ambassador Bridge at 7PM and by 9PM we had both decided we wanted to move there. The rest of the time just reinforced that notion. As soon as we got back to Cleveland, we contacted an immigration lawyer and started doing our research. 

Windsor is an interesting city. It's right across the river from Detroit but the two cities couldn't be more different. I'm sure Detroit needs no introduction. Windsor, on the other hand, is clean, safe, quiet, and the roads are very, very nice. Being the automotive capital of Canada, it's common to see muscle/sports/supercars driving around, often giving their engines a rev or two. There seems to be quite a car scene there.

The people. Canadian people being nice has become a sort of trope in America. We laugh at it and comedians use it to make people laugh. But they actually are that nice. Every single Canadian we spoke with was incredibly friendly, warm, and welcoming.

IT'S SO CLEAN! I can't emphasize this enough. In the days we spent there, we saw probably less than 5-6 pieces of litter total. The whole city is spotless. The public restrooms were clean. The streets were clean. The Walmart was clean.