Cooter
Cooter UberDork
12/10/20 5:38 p.m.

My brake lines are shot on the Sprinter.  

I actually like to bend and flare brake lines, but I have never done bubble flares before.

I've always been poor/cheap with beater in the rust belt, so I've always used the cheap/poor double flare kit.  You know, the one that comes in the little red plastic box.   And I'm pretty good at using it, especially laying on my back under the vehicle reflaring the end of a brake line that twisted the end off because the tube was rusted solid to the fitting.

But now I need to buy a bubble flare kit.   Does anyone have one that they like that is compact?  I'm likely just going to get the KD Tools equivalent and call it a day, but maybe my mind can be changed.   But it needs to be compact, and I'm really not looking for something that needs to be used on a bench, or anything that costs $200+.

Like I said, I really don't mind the cheap style, and find them easy to use.

Turboeric
Turboeric Reader
12/10/20 6:03 p.m.

I have that exact set - worked fine making bubble flares on the GT6.

Donebrokeit
Donebrokeit UltraDork
12/10/20 6:07 p.m.

What some people do is  buy the short bubble lines and splice them with double flares into the original lines.

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
12/10/20 7:49 p.m.

Not sure it's entirely kosher, but I've made a few hundred bubble flares over the last 40 years by not finishing a double flare made on that tool, and none of them have leaked.

Cooter
Cooter UberDork
12/10/20 8:11 p.m.

In reply to Streetwiseguy :

I've read that was possible.   But these flare tools are so cheap, I figured it really wasn't worth experimenting with.

Curtis73 (Forum Supporter)
Curtis73 (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
12/11/20 11:44 a.m.