1 2
1988RedT2
1988RedT2 UltimaDork
4/20/17 7:13 a.m.

Well, after failing to get my old Craftsman chain saw running and using the little Ryobi chain saw my wife bought for trimming Crepe Myrtles, I can see the virtues of using a battery to power infrequently used equipment.

So, any rechargeable string trimmers that won't impress me with their utter feebleness? The Ryobi one doesn't get good reviews and looks to use a replaceable pre-loaded spool instead of being re-fillable.

slowride
slowride Dork
4/20/17 7:20 a.m.

Based on name only, maybe a Stihl? Note: I have no experience with these.

https://battery.stihlusa.com/categories/trimmers/?_ga=1.95185436.1446467837.1492690734

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett UltimaDork
4/20/17 7:22 a.m.

I have the Ryobi one(48v?). It works well for how little I use it(2x per year-ish). I also have their leaf blower, which I use more frequently - it works well, but I end up needing to swap batteries before I'm through.

lnlogauge
lnlogauge Reader
4/20/17 7:26 a.m.

I bought this one last week. Black & decker, 40v, lithium ion. As far as battery, color me impressed. I used the thing cleaning up my backyard, off and on all day. More use than my normal trimming session. When I was finished, the battery was half left. Whatever you buy, make sure its powerful (not 18v), and lithium ion.

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy UltimaDork
4/20/17 7:46 a.m.

I have a 15 year old Toro. Lots of battery, string is too thin.

For a regular sized yard, with regular sized grass and weeds, battery powered is best by far. If my Honda lawnmower ever dies, I'm going battery for that too.

STM317
STM317 Dork
4/20/17 7:47 a.m.