The_Jed
The_Jed Dork
2/28/13 10:34 a.m.

Layoffs are imminent at my current employer and I've been kicking around different career ideas. One of the possibilities is driving a truck. As a former diesel grease monkey I have a deep rooted love of the sounds, sights and smells of big diesels. While turning wrenches the green grass on the other side of the fence always had me wondering if life would be better behind the wheel of a truck rather than under one.

Last night at work while my body was occupied but my mind was not I crunched some numbers, made a few assumptions and now I have a scenario that raises a few questions.

Let's say I'm an owner operator and I obey the DOT law of driving for no longer than 8 hours. Assuming an average speed of 50 mph that's 400 miles per day. Assuming a 5 day work week that's 2,000 miles per week. Assuming 2 weeks off per year that's 100,000 miles per year.

100,000 miles at an assumed 6 mpg is 16,667 (rounded) gallons of fuel.

(That's not including idle time...yikes!)

16,667 gallons at an assumed $3.90 per gallon is $65,001.30.

On top of that, an oil change interval of 15,000 miles and a capacity of 10 gallons, requiring 2 filters per change means 7 changes per year at $200 a pop. So $1400 per year.

Then there's a truck payment, insurance, tires and this and that and hopefully nothing breaks!

Is there a reimbursement for fuel?

Are there a ton of tax write offs?

How in the hell do you make ends meet?

jstand
jstand Reader
2/28/13 11:00 a.m.

It's definitely pricey. Some of this insure you know but for example for my fathers car hauler:

-$12k each year for insurance (liability and cargo) -Then there is the quarterly road use taxes (each state takes a cut) - maintenance: not just oil changes, but brakes, wheel bearings, tires($1200 for good set of steers), etc. - repairs: car haulers develop stress cracks that need welding, hydraulic lines, and more.