1 2
CarKid1989
CarKid1989 Reader
3/10/09 12:33 a.m.

Ok, so im looking at some form of powersport and a quad/ ATV seems to be a year round ticket.

Any advice? What should i bee looking for? is this for me even?

Im in ohio and actually dont even know of where to go.

Im a noob. help

Grtechguy
Grtechguy SuperDork
3/10/09 7:04 a.m.

Where do you plan on riding?

Trails?

Mud?

Sand?

2 wheel?

4x2?

4x4?

6x6?

Grtechguy
Grtechguy SuperDork
3/10/09 7:05 a.m.

just about any old 2wd quad can really be woken up with a new model Sled engine btw.

jrw1621
jrw1621 HalfDork
3/10/09 7:52 a.m.

I too am from Ohio and though I have never owned an ATV my very first thought is, "where can you legally ride it?"

Aside from owning you own farm land I suspect then that you will be loading it into a pick-up truck, van or trailer to actually use it (legally.) The support vehicle costs then have to be factored into the budget. Both the time budget and dollars budget get increased. Suddenly, cheap fun takes more time and costs more dollars.

ManofFewWords
ManofFewWords Reader
3/10/09 8:40 a.m.

In my experience, unless you have a group of friends that ride, you will not use a quad much.

ignorant
ignorant SuperDork
3/10/09 8:45 a.m.
ManofFewWords wrote: In my experience, unless you have a group of friends that ride, you will not use a quad much.

I think this is super sound advice. It goes for many toys.

pinchvalve
pinchvalve SuperDork
3/10/09 9:12 a.m.

Where in Ohio are you? I am in Pittsburgh, and I go out to Mines and Meadows. This is an ATV park near Beaver Run Race track in Wampum PA. It is about 10 minutes from the Ohio state line. For $25 you can ride all day legally, and have access to a pressure washer, medical aid and repair services. They also rent quads, so I can always bring a freind along. If you are close by, or there is somehting similar in your area, then a quad is a lot of fun.