1 2
Flight Service
Flight Service UltraDork
12/27/12 3:54 p.m.

Alright GRM, being an engineer by trade I am surrounded by enough people that can build a PC in their sleep, with enough power to hack NORAD, in 2 nano seconds, with a paper clip and elmers glue, but I have very limited resources when it comes to Mac.

As such I want to purchase a used/refurb Mac laptop for my wife, (cheapest way to dip the tow in the pool of Apple-hippy-ness). I have seen the new W8 and loathe it's existence. So I have decided on the switch for the family (I will limp my XP system on till I have to go to 7)

So what is the model I should purchase of Mac laptops with a 13/15 screen. She writes and messes with photos, internet and the like. Not a power user. Here are my current beliefs.

1. Intel processor
  2. it has an apple on the back.

So someone please give me guidance on the Mac or at least send me to a decent link that doesn't seem to be written by a General Studies major.

Also I read that Apple has the cash reserves to buy BMW, in it's entirety, and still have $40 Billion left.

peter
peter HalfDork
12/27/12 4:39 p.m.

The new Retina screens are highly impressive.

The Air line is wonderfully portable. I have a 13" refurb and love it.

SSD disks are the shiznit. Seriously.

Other than that, any current CPU will do what your wife wants.

What can you afford? Plan on at least 4GB of RAM, and as much hard disk as you can afford. Go with non-Apple RAM if the model you like has upgradeable RAM (the Airs do not).

How big of a laptop works for her? I didn't mind the switch from an old 15" Pro to a 13" Air, but when my boss tried the same thing, he was unhappy.

Portable? 13" Air

Portable + killer screen? 13" Pro w/Retina screen (also falls under the category of 'Affordable + killer screen')

Big + killer screen? 15" Pro w/Retina

Those would be my choices.

Flight Service
Flight Service UltraDork
12/27/12 4:44 p.m.

Looking for cheap. New is not an option, think in the $500 range.