1 2 3
barefootskater5000
barefootskater5000 PowerDork
1/19/22 3:00 p.m.

Apparently there's interest here, so I'll start a thread. 

PLEASE USE EXTREME CAUTION. IF YOU DOUBT YOUR ABILITY TO DO THIS SAFELY, JUST DONT. 

Also, if our hosts deem this inappropriate, please, nuke the thread. 

PPE. PPE. PPE. PPE. 

Understand that I am not a professional, I'm going off instructions from several sources including the manufacturer of the chemicals I'll be using. If you've done this before and see me doing something wrong or unsafe, CALL ME OUT. 
Also, do not take what I say as gospel. This is a learning experience for me. I am no chemist.

Now that's said, here we go. 
Black powder. The organic stuff. This is messy, smelly, corrosive, and a whole lot of fun. 
You may ask why I'm bothering, since pyrodex and triple 7 are synthetic substitutes and both are readily available. The reason is because I want to learn how, and because my flintlock can't use the synthetic substitutes due to higher ignition temps and slower burn rates. The last US manufacturer of BP shut its doors in September and best I can figure is the import stuff won't be available for several months. Coupled with the going rates of $30/lb, I've decided to roll my own. 

The ingredients are simple enough: charcoal, sulfer, and potassium nitrate (saltpeter). I'll not give the mixture here, but it is easily available with a quick google. I ordered my chemicals from https://www.skylighter.com/ $52 plus shipping gets you 10lbs worth. Included in the kit is a bag of dextrin but this should not be used for powder used in firearms, as it will cause excessive fouling and result in ignition issues.