1 2 3
SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
8/18/13 11:16 p.m.

This thread fro 2013

Some of you know I homeschool. I've been a student and lover of alternative forms and methods for teaching children for years. Sugata Mitra is on the cutting edge of envisioning the learning methods for the next generation, through his work in India and all over the world with his experiments in self-guided learning for children. This is one of his TED talks: Sugata Mitra on building a School in the Cloud I love this guy, and have been following his work for a few years. Hope you enjoy it.

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
8/18/13 11:24 p.m.

BTW, if you are stuck on traditional forms of education, that video may be dangerous to your health...it might rock your world!

mtn
mtn UltimaDork
8/18/13 11:56 p.m.

Paul, I don't want to take this on a tangent, but I'm not sure that the question has been asked on the forum before:

If you lived in a good school district (figure top 3000 in the country, out of about 13,000), would you're family still be a home-schooled one? Would your answer be the same if this was the fact when your oldest was entering school?

DrBoost
DrBoost PowerDork
8/19/13 7:37 a.m.
mtn wrote: Paul, I don't want to take this on a tangent, but I'm not sure that the question has been asked on the forum before: If you lived in a good school district (figure top 3000 in the country, out of about 13,000), would you're family still be a home-schooled one? Would your answer be the same if this was the fact when your oldest was entering school?

I can't answer for Paul, but sometimes the school isn't the issue. My wife and I decided to home school one of our kids this year. She was enrolled (and the other two are) in the best school in the county, and usually rated the best in the state. Not best school district, but the best single school. But, it just didn't work for my daughter. We are going to home school for at least a few years for her to help her out.