1 2
tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
12/28/21 7:51 p.m.

My house is built poorly. I'm fixing things as I go. We're down to the home stretch now, as I finish up the bedroom. Some of you saw the refinishing thread where I fixed the dressers, old Craigslist finds. Last year about this time I finished our bed, and in the middle somewhere I built a cool bookcase. Now it's time to paint the room. The ceiling has a slanted portion, and the people doing the sheetrock there must have been drunk. Among the numerous nail pops, the seams at the slanted portion wave at you when you walk into the room to say hello. I think the right answer is to carve out the seams with a painter's tool, by the appropriate angle plastic section, and remud both seems. I don't want to do that. Tunawife is unusually sensitive to dust, and I'm not very good at sheetrock either. We have been tossing the idea around of adding some trim, or even some paneling, or even some beadboarding to that back wall and the angled section. I honestly don't know what would look good. I willing to do anything though. Especially if it's not sheetrock. See the pictures and give me some advice if you want. The first two are other angles just to give you an idea of what the bedroom looks like. Don't worry, the blinds are already on order.

mikeatrpi
mikeatrpi HalfDork
12/28/21 10:00 p.m.

I can't see any waves, but, have you considered painting it the wall color instead of ceiling white?

tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
12/28/21 10:14 p.m.
mikeatrpi said:

I can't see any waves, but, have you considered painting it the wall color instead of ceiling white?

I didn't take any up close. I can paint that section wall color but the seam at the ceiling isn't any better. 

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
12/28/21 10:19 p.m.

Textured finish for drywall hides a plethora of sins. Its a mother to match if you have to repair or replace any sheetrock, but it might be something to look into.

STM317
STM317 UberDork
12/29/21 6:11 a.m.