1 2 3
tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
1/9/22 9:27 a.m.

My dear friend is getting married on Saturday. Her photographer is bailing. She's not super picky, but wants pictures. Tunawife has a Nikon DSLR but doesn't really know how to use it. I only know basics, but when I try, my Pixel 4a blows it out of the water.

I have until Saturday. What can I learn to do a halfway decent job taking pictures for my friend? What details can I get about the existing camera and lens which will help? Budget is zero. 

Shadeux
Shadeux Dork
1/9/22 9:30 a.m.

What model of nikon? That will tell me what it can do.

wae
wae PowerDork
1/9/22 9:38 a.m.

And what lenses are available?  I'm not an expert, but I've found that modern hardware will take fairly good pictures without a lot of practice in the automatic mode.  You'll get better shots for sure by fiddling with the manual modes, but just like an adjustable strut there are a whole lot of ways to set it wrong.  Remember that all the fancy camera is doing is collecting light.  If you have a speedlight that you can angle, it can help a lot in a darker indoor setting, but the built-in flash might be better than nothing for the amount of light you'll have in a wedding.  The camera will tell you that it can handle a fairly high ISO setting, but the higher you go, the more you're going to put noise in the picture. 

Frankly, I would just spend as much time as you can taking pictures of the same thing in the same spot with the same light that approximates what you think the wedding venue will be like, light-wise.  Make some notes about how you have the camera set up as you take the pictures and then load them up onto your computer with the biggest and sharpest monitor you've got and compare.

Typically, for portrait-type photos, I'm going to be adjusting based on aperture and for the scene shots, I like to work with shutter speed.  The auto mode will try to make a best guess for you.

dean1484
dean1484 MegaDork
1/9/22 9:42 a.m.