1 2 3
Robbie
Robbie PowerDork
8/21/18 10:06 a.m.

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2018/08/americas-invisible-pot-addicts/567886/?utm_medium=offsite&utm_source=google&utm_campaign=newsstand-health

Just read this article, and found it very interesting that as many as 40% of weed users self-report to use every day, and 10% self-report to struggle with the drug and its use (ex: I have trouble quitting, it negatively affects my relationships, or my health, or my work).

While I'm no prohibitionist, I have also always been very skeptical of the idea that THC is nearly harmless or even healthy.

So again, if someone tells you they are struggling with a pot problem, don't automatically take the side of the drug marketers.

aircooled
aircooled MegaDork
8/21/18 10:21 a.m.

(not a pot user)

- Search for the negative effects of alcohol

- Search for the way alcohol and pot are treated federally

- Search for the effects of poor diets / eating habits

Almost nothing is entirely harmless.  You can abuse almost anything.  In perspective, pot is very much nowhere near the biggest health issue around.

BTW 10% struggle with use?  That sounds very good to me considering the other things people struggle with using / doing.  I have know many pot users, including a few VERY habitual users (many times a day at least).  I don't find it appealing in anyway, but preferable to almost any other vice out there.  FAR preferable to alcoholics (who where among the same group)

RevRico
RevRico UberDork
8/21/18 10:25 a.m.

In my experience, the people who "struggle with marijuana addiction" are the same people who can't be left alone with dry erase markers. 

I'm surprised the article isn't sponsored by Zoloft. 

carguy123
carguy123 UltimaDork
8/21/18 10:45 a.m.

This post has received too many downvotes to be displayed.

mtn
mtn MegaDork
8/21/18 10:50 a.m.
carguy123 said:

I have seen first hand the effects of prolonged pot usage, it is worse than alcoholism.