ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
5/26/22 8:30 a.m.

I have a need for the following:

Multiple RGBW Led strips  usually in the 4 - 12 range

Not very long, low power dray

intensity and color values controlled independently.

ideally some ability to turn some of them off/on or switch them between multiple 'modes'.  Ideally with input from a switch somewhere else I wire up.

On the surface DMX lighting seems like its capable of doing this.  But I've never used it before.  What do I need to know?  Can anyone recommend a lighting controller?  

Something like this seems ideal, especially given I can daisy chain more of them if I need to add more discrete channels.

But I definitely don't understand the controllers enough.  I don't need to go full DJ with this, program animations, etc.  I just want good control over each light wrapped up in a nice package.

ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
5/26/22 5:10 p.m.

Bump for the evening crowd.  Curtis?

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
5/26/22 6:12 p.m.

Did you stop? Drop? Shut it down, open up shop?

Sorry, I'm no help. Given the title ,  I have the Rough Riders anthem in my head.

thatsnowinnebago
thatsnowinnebago UberDork
5/26/22 7:43 p.m.

In reply to Appleseed :

I've got "X Gon' Give It To You" in mine. 

grover
grover Dork
5/26/22 11:35 p.m.

All of my experience is from more than 10 years ago and never with LEDs. From what i remember though, none of that should be an issue. Controllers used to be Uber cheap- not sure about recently. 

ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
5/27/22 8:43 a.m.

In reply to grover :

They have a very very very wide range of prices and capabilities.  I'm not sure how to find what I need.  I may just take a stab at it with a wifi DMX controller, but honestly wifi/the need for a "smart" interface is a negative for my application.

the_machina
the_machina Reader
5/27/22 11:41 a.m.

Some questions: