1 2
Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa UltimaDork
8/7/22 12:59 p.m.

Got it in two corners of my yard, its coming in from the neighbors.  I know there isn't much I can do about getting on their property and killing it properly, but I can at least get it all out from my yard.

I've rooted the small pieces out, but I've got one or two root structures that are about as big around as my thumb I haven't pulled.  I figure I'll leave them in the ground, and after pulling all the rest of those vines up except the central vine it'll have nowhere to go when I poison it?

Dad has had real luck in the past with triclopyr before.  Anyone have any other suggestions?

dean1484
dean1484 MegaDork
8/7/22 1:04 p.m.

I have no experience with that specifically but a general purpose weed and brush killer is where I would go. Also accidentally spraying over the property line is a thing or I would ask them if they mind you going after it. 

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa UltimaDork
8/7/22 1:07 p.m.

In reply to dean1484 :

Not gonna bother asking.  One of the two is an absolute shiny happy person.  I stopped caring about their opinion a solid three years ago

MadScientistMatt
MadScientistMatt UltimaDork
8/7/22 1:07 p.m.

Glyphospate (Roundup) should do it. But it only works on leaves, and if you have few leaves in proportion to the root you may need several dosages.

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa UltimaDork
8/7/22 1:14 p.m.

In reply to MadScientistMatt :

On the remaining sections there are no leaves left.  Had to pull them through a bunch of roots and everything stripped.

TJL (Forum Supporter)
TJL (Forum Supporter) Dork
8/7/22 1:34 p.m.
MadScientistMatt said:

Glyphospate (Roundup) should do it. But it only works on leaves, and if you have few leaves in proportion to the root you may need several dosages.

I was told by a reputable chemical guy that with vines that will tend to just defoliate instead of die from roundup, that you could cut the vine and dip the fresh cut into concentrated roundup. 

im no fan of virginia creeper.