1 2
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ PowerDork
4/27/21 6:35 a.m.

My hands and wrists have been having an increasingly difficult time recovering from wrenching on stuff- this is extremely annoying, because I use them for everything and when they're overly sore/numb/generally berkeleyed up I can't work on vehicles (which I do for work sometimes and for racing all the times), play instruments, ride a motorcycle or bicycle for very long, etc, without having a bad time.  I've been working on cars consistently for about 15 years and this lack of effective recovery (ongoing soreness/numbness), even after a week or more of taking it pretty easy, is new.

Known issues:

• Formerly broken left wrist (plus arm in multiple places), one of the little football shaped bones in the wrist healed back together wrong and makes a clicking noise
  • Arthritis, this is an ongoing thing and may be aggravating whatever else is going on

Things I'm already doing:

• Treating the arthritis.  Have been on the same stuff for about a decade, which has been consistent for the rest of my body at least
  • Wearing gloves for activities that gloves help with, so I'm not having to death grip anything
  • Ordered carpal tunnel braces for my wrists, those aren't here yet
  • CBD oil.  Helps a little, although mostly just seems to help me sleep better
  • Various stretches, which seem to provide a little temporary help

Anybody have other suggestions?  I'm going to go to my rheumatologist and maybe a sports medicine type place to see what they say as well, but I feel like this crowd is probably familiar with "too much wrenching for too long" and might have some input.  If I could opt for Star Wars grade robotic hands I'd ask which side they want to do first and when I can get an appointment.

Mndsm
Mndsm MegaDork
4/27/21 6:48 a.m.