ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
7/12/21 8:10 a.m.

Currently almost all aftermarket radios are out of stock.  My factory radio has bluetooth, but does not have stop/pause control.  WTF?!?!?!

Anyway, whats a good phone mount?  I don't want any cheap piece of E36 M3 that sticks in my vent, clips to a cd player slot, etc.  I'll happily drill through the dash where needed and install a hard mount, I'm just not sure what type I should be doing?  RAM 1" ball?  1/4-20 stud?

The dash looks like this: 

Is there a industrial grade solution to get the phone in a good spot where A) it won't all come crashing down a few months later and B) it doesn't block the A/C vent?

Wider view:

I'm thinking I could go right into the top of the instrument cluster above the right-most gauge?

wae
wae UberDork
7/12/21 8:17 a.m.

I've been using magnetic mounts for a couple years now and I absolutely love them.  I've just used the regular 3M-adhesive-backed flat discs on the Miata and the motorhome to install on a flat surface and haven't had any problems.  I tried an angled one on the truck, but I couldn't get it to stay attached for more than a couple months - but if you were willing to zip a couple screws into your dash, it would work great.  I know you don't want the cd-slot mount type, but I've been using one of those in the factory radio on my truck for the last year or so and it's been pretty awesome.  The expander jaws go into the slot and then I have a nice square magnet that I can stick my phone to. 

ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
7/12/21 8:37 a.m.

So something like this?  https://www.amazon.com/MAGDMB-MagicMount-Universal-Frustration-Packaging/dp/B00I608BJ8

Have you ever had to change yours?  Does the adhesive come off if you want it to?  With my luck as soon as I did that, I would need to change phones or something and the new one wouldn't fit.

68TR250
68TR250 HalfDork
7/12/21 9:16 a.m.