93EXCivic
93EXCivic UltimaDork
4/24/12 4:04 p.m.

I have a pair of eyeglassses (metal frames) which broke the other day and being the cheap bastard I am, I don't want to throw them away. So I figured I would try to fix them. How should I fix them brazing or JB Weld or some other form of epoxy? I have never used done brazing before but I will try damn near anything.

fromeast2west
fromeast2west Reader
4/24/12 4:09 p.m.

http://www.zennioptical.com/

There isn't any reason not to have a spare or two around when you can pick up a new pair for $20 shipped to your door.

CLNSC3
CLNSC3 Reader
4/24/12 4:23 p.m.

ultraclyde
ultraclyde Dork
4/24/12 7:52 p.m.

years ago as a broke college kid I fixed a pair of wire frame glasses with JB Weld. They broke where the wire over the nosepiece met the wire around the lense. I carefully built up a sculpted brigde out of epoxy - which is really hard when you're BLIND cause you're fixing your GLASSES. Anyway, they held great for six months till I could get to the optometrist. While at the doc I made some crack about fixing them myself, causing him to pick up the frames and examine them. He was very impressed, couldn't believe I'd repaired them myself. Said he hadn't noticed it till i pointed it out, then made me detail how I'd done it.

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess UltimaDork
4/24/12 7:53 p.m.
CLNSC3 wrote:

Doode, masking tape is the traditional eyeglass repair go-to.

NGTD
NGTD Dork
4/24/12 8:51 p.m.

When I was a kid:

jimbob_racing
jimbob_racing Dork
4/24/12 9:06 p.m.
failboat
failboat Dork
4/25/12 6:26 a.m.
fromeast2west wrote: http://www.zennioptical.com/ There isn't any reason not to have a spare or two around when you can pick up a new pair for $20 shipped to your door.

thanks for that. I only get a new pair of glasses every couple years when the current set breaks, or gets too scratched up. now if I can only find my vision prescription........

jimbob_racing
jimbob_racing Dork
4/25/12 7:46 a.m.