1 2 3
ClemSparks
ClemSparks SuperDork
10/7/08 3:17 p.m.

Hey all,

My current circumstances have me looking for extra income. I've got a good, stable 8:00-5:00 gig, but would like to find something that would generate some income during the other hours of the day. I dropped my real estate license, so that's out (rough market to be a part time realtor). I do have a Class E "Chauffer's" driver license. So I could do something like towing or limo driving or something. I have limited experience towing. Back when I was in college I did it long enough to get trained. I have my doubts about whether it would make enough money to be worthwhile. Courier work or delivery would be cool...but probably not much demand for off-hours like I have available...or in my 100K population town.

Anything technical/mechanical or driving related would be up my alley. I'm a mechanical engineer, used-to-be race mechanic, and a car guy in general.

The discussion doesn't have to be about me, in particular...I guess I'm looking for part-time evening and/or night job situations that folks have had good or bad experiences with. I figure it will open my scope a bit to things I might not have yet discovered.

My perfect job would be something where I got paid to sleep ;). lol...

A fly-in race mechanic gig would be great...but in my experience, the pay typically isn't worth the effort (since there's lots of guys who will do it for cheap/free).

Clem

pete240z
pete240z HalfDork
10/7/08 3:20 p.m.

I have always said that I need a really high paying part-time job.

And then my wife says: who doesn't?

mtn
mtn Dork
10/7/08 3:20 p.m.
ClemSparks wrote: My perfect job would be something where I got paid to sleep ;). lol...

I've got that! Sort of... Donating blood plasma.

ClemSparks
ClemSparks SuperDork
10/7/08 3:23 p.m.
mtn wrote:
ClemSparks wrote: My perfect job would be something where I got paid to sleep ;). lol...
I've got that! Sort of... Donating blood plasma.