pheller
pheller UltimaDork
9/9/20 1:54 p.m.

I've got a few different projects scheduled around the house, a bathroom remodel (not moving plumbing), a deck (56" off the ground), and, like Curtis, a fireplace I'd like to move/redesign. 

All technically require a permit with local city. 

The problem I've found is that it's not permit cost or wait that is difficult - it's the drawings. They want you to call out every piece of building code, plumbing code, etc. They want to see details of this and that. It's no-wonder many DIYers just skip the permit process altogether. My neighbor has been remodeling his entire house, moving plumbing, electrical, removing walls, the whole shebang, and no permits - for this reason. It take as long to create drawings/plans as it does actually doing the construction! 

Don't get me wrong, I totally understand the reason behind building permits and construction inspection. I worked as a permit tech and subdivision plan reviewer, although I never did construction plan review (that was done by the inspectors). I'd be totally willing to lose money and time to have a building inspector review my work at various stages of construction and say "yea, you didn't do that right, do it like this and call me when its fixed." That makes total sense - I don't want to burn down my house or kill its current or subsequent inhabitants. I can't help but feel however, that this prevents a lot of people from either remodeling their homes despite having the construction skills to do so, or avoiding permiting and inspection, and potentially creating unsafe situations.