1 2
DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
5/23/19 3:01 p.m.

So I'm looking at a cross-country move in the next 12 months. I won't be able to keep my current job as they have a 'no work from home' policy.....unless you're a salesman apparently.  Anyway, I want to keep my options open as far as what city I live in, so that has me thinking about a work-from-home gig. I'm a technical writer, so I could absolutely do my job from home. Here's the thing, I've never done anything close to this, so it freaks me out. 

Work from home jobs don't seem as stable, but I have absotutely NO reason for saying this.  How many of you work from home, and what do you do?  

Is there a better or worse way of looking for a WFH job? BTW, I'm not looking for free-lance work, I need income stability as we are a one-income family.   

I hope this makes sense, I'm on the road for work right now and my sleep schedule is pretty jacked up.

z31maniac
z31maniac MegaDork
5/23/19 3:08 p.m.

I'm a Technical Writer for a large commerce company, owned by an even larger Tech company. If you've ever purchased from Williams Sonoma or BillaBong, or many others, they use our product. 

We are 2 days at home, 3 days in the office. Flip a day either way and it's still good. I'm not sure I'd want to go FULL-TIME remote, because going into the office, talking with your coworkers, forcing yourself to get up shower and get dressed (vs just walking to your home office in your PJs) is a good thing. Everyone in my office agrees.................but I've NEVER done FULL-TIME remote, so this is just my current speculation.

Not sure where you plan to move, but I can tell that basically every huge tech company (and many others you don't think of) all have locations in Austin, TX.

Datsun310Guy
Datsun310Guy UltimaDork
5/23/19 3:09 p.m.

Salesmen - 14 years on the road - home office.