1 2
Jerry
Jerry PowerDork
9/15/21 12:08 p.m.

Came home yesterday to another 46F refrigerator.  Apparently the power had blipped off long enough to cause it to ice up again, turn off my desktop and turn on the Leg Lamp from the Xmas Story House, but not enough to cause any flashing clocks.

I've been nursing this stupid thing for at least 2-3 years.  At first it was every 6 months or so I would see ice bulging out of the vents inside on the back wall & have to shut it off a day or two.  The last year has gotten more frequent and almost every time the power goes out the ice built up inside seems to turn to a solid block.

Samsung something from 2012, and everyone tells me stay away from Samsung & LG.  One person said anyone that makes TVs.  I don't need water or ice makers, it's a French door stainless steel but not concerned if the next one is...

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 MegaDork
9/15/21 12:22 p.m.

I swear, I'm not sure it matters anymore.   I've got a side-by-side Kitchenaid that's going on 20 years old.  It's been very good.  When it gives up the ghost, I'll probably pick up whatever has the features I want that Costco sells.  Appliances used to be called "durable goods".  Nowadays, it seems like they're designed to have a major component break down every year or so.

Curtis73 (Forum Supporter)
Curtis73 (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
9/15/21 12:22 p.m.

The "best" rated fridge tends to change every year.  I bought a used fridge for my house and it is a Whirlpool.  I've had it for 3 years and it was at least 3 years old before that.  It does the things.  The freezer is frozen, the fridge is refrigerated.  It was rated very highly for the year that it was manufactured.