1 2
Wally (Forum Supporter)
Wally (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
9/5/20 6:18 p.m.

I had been wearing New Balance shoes for years with no issues but now that I've gotten back into going to the gym and walking a lot I'm wearing through them fast. My latest pair I killed the heels in about three weeks. I know being fat they wear faster but is that something better that wouldn't need quite as frequent replacements?  

Strizzo
Strizzo PowerDork
9/5/20 6:22 p.m.

In my experience the only shoes that last once you get above a size 10 are new balance. 

do you have a new balance store near your? Maybe go in and discuss your issues with them, they usually have more options/sizes than a regular shoe store. 

Subscriber-unavailabile
Subscriber-unavailabile HalfDork
9/5/20 6:25 p.m.

Maybe try Puma's. 
Im not overweight but I'm a delivery driver by trade, typically walk 5-8 miles a day and they last me around a year. 

pres589 (djronnebaum)
pres589 (djronnebaum) PowerDork
9/5/20 6:45 p.m.

I'm not overweight so ignore this but I have good luck with Adidas Sambas lasting a long time.

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
9/5/20 6:50 p.m.

I've got Nike Monarchs, casually called a Dad shoe.  I'm 270 ish, and they last reasonably well.  Wide and comfy, too.

wvumtnbkr
wvumtnbkr UberDork
9/5/20 6:59 p.m.

Damn.  Was gonna say new balance.

If it's just the heels wearing out, that is a stride issue.

Maybe get some insoles that help with better positioning?

John Welsh (Moderate Supporter)
John Welsh (Moderate Supporter) Mod Squad
9/5/20 7:16 p.m.

I was a long time devotee to New Balance but the quality really seemed to go downhill. I am now a devotee to Asics who also offers the wide sizes that I need. 

Sizing is the same as NB meaning that as a NB 10.5w, the Asics 10.5w fit the same

My current daily kicks were $59

6'1" & 255 lbs

Duke
Duke MegaDork
9/5/20 7:18 p.m.

Wearing out the outsoles or crushing down the insoles?