MissMarie
MissMarie None
6/12/09 6:59 p.m.

Hi all! I'm brand-new to the forum and to motorcycle riding, but I could use a little advice.

It's T-minus one month until I complete an MSF safety course and get my motorcycle license. In the meantime, I've been looking at bikes - and (just in like in my love life) I'm lusting after one I'm not sure about.

It's a '72 Honda CB350, 17,000 miles, good shape - new battery, new tires, the current owner's a mechanic who replaced a lot of the engine parts. Before he bought it, it was sitting in a heated basement for two decades. Seems a value at $1K. I love the way it looks and feels - but again, I'm a total newbie. In doing some research, I've seen some folks say it's great for beginners; other complain it'll be a maintenance headache.

What do you think? Would you recommend it for a total beginner, or should I keep hunting?

wherethefmi
wherethefmi HalfDork
6/12/09 9:09 p.m.

Keep hunting, parts are going to be a scrounging nightmare, my old boss had an addiction to them, and had a hard time getting parts, even though he was the parts manager at a HONDA dealer.

jwdmotorsports
jwdmotorsports HalfDork
6/13/09 6:13 a.m.

They are cool looking bikes. I have a 74 CB360 in the garage waiting for me to work on it.

Anyone know if CB350 front ends work on CB360s?

stuart in mn
stuart in mn Dork
6/13/09 7:32 a.m.

Well, if it's in good condition you shouldn't have to do any parts hunting. CB350s are kind of like the stone ax of the motorcycle world - they're simple, reliable bikes that are easy to ride. When I was a kid you couldn't swing a cat without hitting one, they were everywhere. As far as getting parts for older bikes, in my experience old Hondas are the easiest; they built a zillion of them, and if you can't get parts from the factory there are a number of old parts dealers out there. http://www.honda350k.com/

MissMarie
MissMarie New Reader
6/13/09 9:52 a.m.